Whisper

Warm Hands Cold Heart

How can I ever forget?
It felt like an ice cold coffee and a dipped cookie
Sweet and pleasurable
Joy and love
I felt it all at once
And it has devoured the depths of me
I was addicted to it
The feeling of it
The taste of every morning with it
It happened fast
Sudden
But that is what I thought
It was there long before I noticed it
Long before I recognized it
Long before I accepted it
I was too naive
Well I choose to be naive
Lame
But that is what it is
The roots have grown old and deep but the trunks were young
How I appreciate the branches and took for granted the hold in the soil
I touched you with my warm hands
But I have burnt you with my cold heart
How could I let this happen
How could I be so heartless

Leave a Reply

