Shout

An Open Letter To Every Man Who Is Torn Between A Bestfriend And A Girlfiend (Bestfriend’s POV)

Hi there. How are you? I don’t know what you’ve been up to, but I hope all is well. I know we’ve been estranged for a while now, but I just want you to know, I’m still here and I still care about you, hoping that you’re okay, happy, safe and healthy. I wonder how you’re liking your life now, what new friends you made, what rants you have to share. I missed you.

I want to let you know that I’m okay. You don’t have to worry and you need not to feel guilty. We grew cold, we crossed our lines, we stained our friendship, but I understand. I’m done holding grudges about life. We’re grown ups and we understand things no matter how complicated they may be, that is what we do. All those stupid fights and the petty digs at each other, may have been a necessary release of emotion at the time, but they’re a thing of the past now. I am healing. You may have hurt me, but I know I hurt you too. Neither of us were right, neither of us were wrong. We both had some valid argument, even though I would never admit that at the time. I am sorry for all I did that hurt you and hurt our friendship.

I understand how a grown up you have become and I admire you for being one. It brings delight to me to know that through the years, the person I tease for being silly has now become a fine gentleman, a man worth bragging about, someone you could be proud of. And I am proud that you have made the bravest decision in straightening your priorities. Please stop worrying on the thought that you have betrayed me and our friendship. I admit I held a grudge on it and that this note may sound bitter, but you know me, I am bipolar. You did not betrayed me, you just spoke a long overdue decision. And I truly, honestly, completely understand your choice and I cannot be the one, of all the people, to hinder your happiness. Be happy, I say.

For all this, I thank you. I thank you for the times you made me feel like I’m a princess on this drastic castle we call earth. I thank you for letting me experience how awesome it is to have a brother like my age, from which I had always dreamed of since I was a kid. I thank you for the incredible times we’ve shared, but also in the lessons learned. Thank you for fighting with me and being cruelly honest with me, for I have embraced my insecurities and laughed at it, for I have learned my flaws and what to change. Thank you for giving up on me, because I learned I am not invincible, and how I am held accountable for the things I do, the things I say, the things I post on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. Thank you for turning your back on me on the very time I am consumed with the deepest shit Life could throw at my face, because I learned to become stronger on the moment I believed I was at my strongest. Thank you for breaking my heart, because I learned how to pull myself back up from the lowest of lows. Thank you for getting me to that point, because I really learned more about me than I ever thought I needed to. But most importantly, thank you for being my dear friend. We may have stopped talking, but your friendship meant the world to me. I will hold the memories we made in my heart forever, never to be tainted with our falling out. No amount of hurt, fight, or hatred can take away the blessings and happiness you brought to my life. Thank you for picking me up when I was down, being my crying shoulder, and my support system. You were everything I needed in a best friend.

I am saddened, terrified on the thought that I cannot crash unto you every time I wanted to. But with you showing me, how a great love to someone can give away friendship, now that was pure sacrifice. And I tell you, I would genuinely set myself on fire for you to put premium acquisition on your choices, the choices that would let you have the happiness you deserve.

We changed, no longer good for each other. It stings to think that I will probably never have you in my life as I have you back then, but I have a wish for you. I wish you all the best. I wish you all the success, wherever this life takes you. I hope you find a woman, and if you already found her, that she would treat you like nothing but the world. I hope you find friends who will never betray you, and a best friend who is everything I wasn’t. I wish you a life full of prosperity, love, and good health, and I wish that you make the most of everything that comes your way.

I promised I would love you forever, and I will always be here, and that doesn’t change. Thank you and be well.

Untitled.png

(Images taken from Tumblr)

Leave a Reply

