Shout

Letters to Juliet

Okay. I fell in love with this novel and its movie adaptation the moment I have red the letters below. It was 2010. And everytime I re watch the movie, the feels rush like it was always the first time and I still go “Awwwww <3″. Since then, I had always wished to visit Verona, Italy and wrote a letter to Juliet myself. It has been a #lifegoal for me and my fingers are still crossed that one day, I’ll be able to. (Oh Juju, but not with a broken heart please.)

Lucky I was that Amanda Seyfried, one of my fave, portrayed as Sophie Hall on the romantic drama film. It’s a plus-plus to like everything you see on screen and the catch that the words [dialogue] are roses, all of it was moving.

Here are the collection of words which I thought were crafted really well.

Doubt thou the stars are fire;
Doubt that the sun doth move;
Doubt truth to be a liar;
But never doubt I love.

~ Famous quotation from Hamlet, Prince of Denmark written by William Shakespeare.

***

At least I am not Romeo.
If I found the love of my life, I wouldn’t stand there like an idiot whispering in the garden.
I would just grab her from that blasted balcony and be done with it.

~ Charlie Wyman, Claire’s grandson to Sophie Hall disagreeing the image of Romeo

***67f34-tumblr_lvhv85gedq1qgbgzqo1_500

~ Lorenzo Bartolini to Claire Smith-Wyman

***

tumblr_m8tuai2tbn1r6f6deo1_500

Dear Claire,
“What” and “If” are two words as non-threatening as words can be.
But put them together, side by side, and they have the power to haunt you for the rest of your life. 
What. If. What if? What if?
I don’t know how your story ended, but if what you felt then was true love, then it’s never too late.
If it was true then, why wouldn’t it be true now? 
You need only the courage to follow your heart.
I don’t know what a love like Juliet’s feels like, a love to leave loved ones for, a love to cross oceans for, but I’d like to believe, if I ever were to feel it, that I’d have the courage to seize it. 
And, Claire, if you didn’t, I hope one day that you will.
All my love,
Juliet

~ Sophie’s reply to Claire’s letter

***

Listen to me. Listen to me very very carefully.
I live in London, a gorgeous, vibrant, historic city that I happen to love living in.
You live in New York, which is highly overrated. But since the Atlantic Ocean is a bit wide to cross every day, swimming, boating or flying, I suggest we flip for it. 
And if those terms are unacceptable, leaving London will be a pleasure, as long as you’re waiting for me on the other side.tumblr_mz5gfb4Jkl1rfqe5xo1_500
Because the truth is, Sophie, I am madly, truly, deeply,  passionately in love with you.

~ Charlie Wyman to Sophie Hall

***

And by the way, I happen to like this photo. It somewhat digs me.

9c886eb6172beffe296c95f01848dcf8

 

(Photos and GIFs were taken from Tumblr)

Leave a Reply

